Watford Liberal Democrats unveil their 2023 local election candidates

6 Apr 2023

Mayor Peter Taylor and the Watford Liberal Democrats have announced their candidates for the 2023 local elections. As in most elections in recent years, residents are expecting that the elections this year will be between the Liberal Democrats and Watford Labour.

Six of the 12 candidates are sitting councillors and will be campaigning to continue their role standing up for residents in the area. Three sitting councillors, Cllr Jessica Stiff (Park ward), Cllr Bill Stanton (Tudor Ward) and Cllr Imran Hamid (Oxhey ward_), will be stepping down after representing their community over many years.

Standing for the Liberal Democrats in Oxhey is Chris Newstead, a local resident who helped to create the annual BrewFest beer festival and is one-fifth of the Oxhey Village Brewery team. He has also worked in the media and charity sectors and set up the annual Watford jazz festival, the Jazz Junction.

The Liberal Democrat candidate in Park ward, Penelope Hill, works in education and is keen to promote environmentally sustainable policies, such as our popular Beryl Bike scheme.

Charlott Saunders, the Liberal Democrat candidate for Tudor, works for the award-winning local charity Herts Inclusive Theatre. She is well known in the community for her charity and volunteering work, particularly her Watford General and Community Toy drive and Easter egg and Eid treat drive festival.

Elected Mayor of Watford Peter Taylor said:

“I am really proud of the candidates we are putting forward to voters this year. I know that each and every one of them will be excellent local champions for their area. Our new candidates are really impressive and have done everything from starting a successful local jazz festival, to supporting local charities and working at Watford General and in education.

“The Conservatives haven’t won in a local election here for almost a decade so the choice for residents will be hard working Liberal Democrats or the Watford Labour Party, who left the council in a mess when they were in charge.

“Some of our colleagues will not be returning this year as they have decided to step down after years of public service to the residents of Watford. I am grateful for all their hard work and wish them all the best for their future.”

The full list of Liberal Democrats candidates for the upcoming local elections are as follows:

Callowland – Dawn Allen-Williamson

Central – Rabi Martins

Holywell – Gabriel Duduta 

Leggatts – Jamil Minhas

Meriden – Amanda Grimston

Nascot – Mark Hofman

Oxhey – Chris Newstead

Park – Penelope Hill

Stanborough – Tim Williams

Vicarage – Bobby Amin

Tudor – Charlott Saunders

Woodside – Richard Wenham

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.